Skip Navigation

Board of Trustees

SPES Board of Trustees

St. Paul’s Episcopal School is a mission of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church. The Vestry of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church delegates authority of overseeing the school to the school’s Board of Trustees.

The SPES Board of Trustees consists of a Chairperson, President, and 15 elected Regular Trustees, plus up to three additional Special Trustees which the Board may deem as necessary. Each Trustee is elected for a three-year term.

The Board is charged with setting school policy, employing and evaluating the Head of School, monitoring the financial condition of the school, and guiding the school’s future. The Board of Trustees meets monthly and holds additional special or ad-hoc meetings on an as-needed basis.


SPES Board of Trustees - 2022

Rev. Samantha R. E. Smith, Chair of the Board 
Lance Harris, President
Alison Harkins, Vice President
Cody Short, Treasurer
Jason Neerman, Asst. Treasurer
Kathleen Guy, Past President
Flip Alexander
Carl Ballew
Lisa Clevenger (Vestry Representative)
Dr. Roland Goertz
Jill Goss (Parents + Friends Representative)
Sarah Kathryn Hickman
Christi Hunting Horse (Parents + Friends Representative)
Kelly Lawson (Parents + Friends President)
Devin Mejia
Ruth Miller
Rev. Brandon McGinnis
Cherise Myatt
Anne Rue
Suzanne Shelton (Parents + Friends Representative)
M’Lissa Howen, M.Ed., Head of School, Ex-Officio
SPES Update